Skip to main content

Testimonials

"Working with Barrie was a wonderful experience -- moving into the competitive Cambridge market (and house-hunting at times from abroad) was very intimidating, and Barrie helped us navigate the process in every way imaginable. She took the time to listen carefully to our needs, and to get to know our tastes and quirks as we looked at multiple properties, arranging things with great flexibility to fit our complicated schedules and limited chances to visit in person. She gave us thoughtful, tailored advice on all aspects of the process, from looking to bidding to purchasing. The more we interacted with other agents, the more we were convinced that Barrie was the right choice: knowledgeable and responsive, outgoing and proactive, patient and understanding, encouraging and optimistic, all tempered with realistic and sage advice about the rapidly-changing market and a great feel for the negotiations on properties that were getting multiple offers in the first week. In so many ways she went above and beyond what we would expect -- we are very happy to recommend her enthusiastically (and have already done so). If we sell or buy again, we will turn to her."

-- Jonathan B., November 2018

 

"I feel so lucky that we found Barrie- she was indispensable both for helping us buy our home in Newton and helping us get the best possible price when a job change moved us out of state. When we were searching for our home, it was clear she knew the Newton market quite well, and her advice was always spot-on. When we finally found the perfect home for us, she quickly figured out what we needed to do to put our offer over the top. And when we sold, we had offers at 5-10% over asking price. We've used 2 other Realtors (in other markets) and while they were friendly and helpful, neither matched Barrie for responsiveness, negotiation skills, and advice."

-- Jonathan T., September 2018

 

“From the very beginning of the process, Barrie made us feel we were in excellent hands for the sale of our condo. This could have been a stressful time, but she took all stress away. She provided personal and knowledgeable support from the beginning to the closing. Barrie listened to us, truly heard what we were saying, and moved us steadily to our goals. It was a pleasure to work with her.

“We would highly recommend Barrie to anyone looking to sell a property.”

-- Sam S., July 2018

“I told my husband I was going to leave a testimonial for Barrie and said that I assumed he had no objection. His immediate, unguarded response was: ‘I LOVE Barrie. She’s been great!’ That pretty much sums it up, but here’s some detail. We have used Barrie for two simultaneous home sale and home purchase episodes, in 2012 and 2018. They involved four properties in Brookline, Newton and Winthrop. We got well over our asking price on the sales, received expert information about the neighborhoods we wanted to purchase into, and she handled all negotiations in a firm but professional manner. Super responsive and friendly. We never considered anyone else for our 2018 transactions given our experience with her in 2012. I recommend her without qualification, and anyone deciding to work with her is in for a real treat.”

-- Paula H., July 2018

“Barrie was a lifesaver in a hard situation, and I am eternally grateful she was my Realtor. Last fall I had to put my parents in assisted living and sell their Brookline home, and Barrie was supportive through the whole process. She was diligent in finding us a number of comparable properties to figure out a good asking price, and really talked with me about what our priorities and options were out of concern for us, not what would be an easy sale for her. We sold for above asking, and when we hit a snag of needing to bring the house up to fire code, Barrie was right on it.

“She also was a great resource for finding people to help us clear out the house and prepare it for showing. Barrie is always honest and knowledgeable, and really looks out for her clients; I can't recommend her enough."

-- Kate K., March 2018

“Barrie was instrumental in helping us find and buy our first home. We told her what we were looking for and she found us the perfect house. She was kind, encouraging and responsive throughout the entire process, making sure we were always prepared for and comfortable with the next step well ahead of time. In addition to the buying process, Barrie has continued to be in touch helping us find local contractors and answering any questions we have about homeownership.

“We can't recommend her highly enough to anyone looking to find the perfect home!”

-- Ben Z., March 2018

“Barrie was phenomenal in helping us buy our home. We were buying a home from across the country and therefore depended on Barrie's knowledge, responsiveness and support. She spent days driving me around and getting to know what we were looking for in a home and community. Because we were far away, we relied on Barrie to coordinate and attend various inspections and she masterfully used the information gathered in these inspections to negotiate the sales price to reflect the work that needed to be done. Barrie's nature is calm, honest and insightful; I cannot think of a Realtor I'd rather have helping me buy my first home.”

-- Cara C., August 2017

"I typically don't write reviews of companies and/or professionals but Barrie Wheeler did such a phenomenal job for us that I couldn't pass up the opportunity to praise her. My husband and I started looking for our first home this past winter (January 2017) in the aggressive Boston market. I can honestly say that without Barrie, we never would have found a home to call our own. She oftentimes reached out to us after normal work hours, wrote us personalized emails with listings she thought we would like, and typically screened properties in person before telling us to view them ourselves. Once we found a home we loved, she effortlessly walked us through what is clearly a complex process. I could not be happier that we used Barrie to find and purchase our first home. If you are looking for a highly professional and compassionate real estate broker, contact Barrie. There is no one better than her."

-- Katie W., August 2017

"It was a great pleasure working with Barrie from start to finish. She was incredibly patient, bearing with us over a 4+ year period while we endlessly debated and dithered over which new townhouse to purchase and in which town. She was tolerant through several false starts and shifts in our priorities. 

“Once we found the right place, she helped us through the emotionally fraught process of preparing and selling our gorgeous old house in which we had lived for almost 25 years. Throughout, she was calm, understanding and empathetic. And she is extremely knowledgeable. I wish everyone could have a such a terrific Realtor.”

-- Marcia K., June 2017

"We cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed working with Barrie Wheeler in the process of buying our new home in Auburndale.  She helped us navigate the fast-paced Newton real estate market in a way that was warm, caring and fun.  She was patient, responsive and extremely knowledgeable.  Her advice was consistently spot-on.  We highly recommend Barrie to anyone in the area looking to buy or sell a home.”

-- Nisha C. and John S., December 2016

“Barrie Wheeler is a consummate professional. I have worked with Barrie twice now. Once as a buyer (my first home) and once as a seller.  Both times she was able to help me negotiate great deals. She knows the market very well and handles all the nitty gritty details with grace and ease. She also has a referral network of other excellent professionals (lawyers, mortgage brokers) who you can trust to get the job done well. When you are dealing with buying and selling real estate, especially your home, you want to feel as safe and secure as possible. Barrie always made me feel like I was in the best hands. I recommend her without reservation.”

-- Amber M., April 2016

"I highly recommend Barrie Wheeler to sell or buy your home. Barrie understands the stress involved in the process. I had sold my home and had to rent a room until I found a condo. Barrie jumped in and, in spite of a slow winter market, went above and beyond to find me places to view. Eventually, Barrie sent letters to all the owners of several buildings she thought would work well for my needs and explained that she had a motivated client ready to purchase quickly. This worked!

“Barrie has an amazing ability to know her clients’ needs and personality, in addition to all the financial and logistical factors.  In very short order, I felt I had found a very caring and competent professional who understood me, was willing to work very hard to find me a new home, and had the compassion and patience to ease much of my anxiety.”

-- Jacky vL, October 2015

“We are very thankful that we had the opportunity to work with Barrie.  She sold our condo in Newton while we relocated to Atlanta.  She was absolutely amazing and was in constant communication with us.  She made us feel at ease and completely confident at the sale of our home at all times.  During a time that can be stressful, especially since we were already in Atlanta, she kept us up to date daily on the progress of our home. 

“We were very impressed with her ambition, passion and patience.  We feel very blessed and fortunate that Barrie Wheeler was our Realtor during this time.  Thank you, Barrie!”

-- Mari and Dominic A., February 2015

“We first met Barrie through our real estate attorney who recommended her highly and. from our first meeting, we found Barrie to be highly professional, caring, knowledgeable and accurate with all her assessments. 

“After being in our home for over 30 years, the task of preparing the house to be sold was overwhelming, but Barrie was very calming and helpful in setting the appropriate timetable and making suggestions. She thoroughly explained the current market and what we could expect to happen and she was right on target. 

“During the entire sales process through closing, Barrie was very responsive to all our questions and concerns and made sure all the details were successfully completed. Barrie truly cares about and for her clients and we would highly recommend her to anyone looking to buy or sell their home.”

--Debbie and Jeff K., January 2015

"Helen and I want to thank you for your help in marketing and selling my sister’s condo in Newton.  We were impressed by your professionalism from the first time we met.  You had good suggestions as to what needed to be done in preparing the property for sale.  You thoroughly explained the process.

“You always promptly returned our phone calls and kept us informed.  We were confident that you had the situation under control, especially because we were in Florida and had to deal remotely.  We would not hesitate to call on you again to handle either buying or selling a property.  Thanks again.”

-- Helen and Bruce L., January 2015

“My family and I had suffered the recent loss of my mom and now had to face the daunting task of clearing out her house and getting it ready for the market.  Fortunately, our paths crossed with Barrie Wheeler. We had absolutely no experience in selling property and with all the emotion and work to be done, felt a bit overwhelmed.  Barrie was an angel in disguise.  Her approach, kindness and experience helped us to get the house ready and sold by the end of the summer. She was patient, approachable, always available and used her experience, connections and creativity to make a deal happen for all involved. 

“Barrie's confidence and knowledge during the whole process was calming during a difficult time.   I will always be grateful for her efforts, professionalism and kindness.  My family and I were very fortunate to have the opportunity to have met Barrie Wheeler.  I truly believe that Barrie's skills are the reason we sold the house when we did.  She is an  outstanding realtor and I would recommend her without any reservation to help you sell or buy your next home.”

-- Denise N., September 2014

“Barrie Wheeler is a warm, personal and very user-friendly Realtor. She knows her neighborhoods well and has a strong working knowledge of what the market will bear in each.  She was able to explain all of this information to me with ease in a simple straightforward manner.  She looks you straight in the eye when interacting with you and this means a great deal to me. 

“Selling my home in West Newton, the home in which I raised my child as a single mother, was nothing short of daunting, but Barrie made the whole process so much easier for me since I knew without a single doubt that she advocated for me and was going to get me the best possible price for my home.  She appeared to appreciate my home almost as much as I did.  She realized this was more than a simple transaction for me and understood where I was on my life journey.  She always welcomed my input and in fact changed her approach according to it several times during my preparation period as well as selling period.  I really treasured the fact that she spent a lot of time with me and never made me feel rushed. Several times I needed to call her after hours on her cell phone to ask a question and she engaged me as fully then as during her work day.

“I would happily and fully recommend Barrie to anyone who needs help with buying or selling their home; the relationship they will have with her will not disappoint!  If I can be of further help, I would welcome a call to discuss my experience with Barrie.”

-- Irene L., September 2014

“Barrie Wheeler is a Realtor extraordinaire.  In addition to helping us find a wonderful home in our price range, Barrie served as our cheerleader, guide, therapist, and friend.  At every step of the process, Barrie helped us clarify what we were looking for, and then energetically worked to help us find it.  Barrie listened so well to our needs that she actually only showed us places that we loved.  When we found the right fit, Barrie helped us negotiate price, helped us get our mortgage, found us a lawyer we loved, found us a trustworthy contractor, and even helped us figure out which appliances to buy and where.  Barrie's knowledge, passion, caring, and wit make her a real joy to work with.  We cannot recommend her more highly.”

-- Margie and Jeremy R., March 2014

“Barrie helped us buy our first home last year in West Newton. We were novices with really high expectations in a really intense market and Barrie guided us through the process with patience, expert advice, thoughtfulness, understanding and savvy. She's a super smart lady who could do anything and is clearly passionate about real estate. She also has really great connections to mortgage brokers and lawyers who formed a fantastic team to get us where we wanted to be. We are so happy in our home and owe that very much to Barrie!”

-- Karen S., February 2014

“We were first-time buyers without lots of knowledge about the housing market when we first met Barrie. She patiently guided us through the whole process, helped us identifying an inspector, attorney, etc. We had a great experience working with her. We have known and worked with Barrie quite a few years now. Barrie is very knowledgeable in both buying and selling houses. She is always honest and professional, makes sure we are comfortable with our decisions. We highly recommend Barrie's service. Indeed, we have recommended her to our friends, who had great feedback as well.”

-- Andy C., February 2014

“Barrie Wheeler helped us sell our condo in Somerville two years after we relocated from Massachusetts.  She managed the entire process for us while we were abroad, skillfully handled multiple offers and worked with our tenants to somehow make this a seamless transaction.  A bit after selling, we decided to move back to the Boston area and Barrie helped us with this as well. We were out of the country and she was very quick to understand our needs. When we visited she made sure that we would see every unit that might interest us, and pointed out many important considerations that we would not have considered on our own. When we were away, she coordinated visits by our friends and relatives, and made sure that we had a very clear picture of every stage of the process. Without her advice and guidance, we would never have managed this process. Thanks to Barrie, we now own a lovely condo in Cambridge and would recommend her without hesitation to anyone selling or buying in the greater Boston area. “

--Danny and Orit F., February 2014

“Barrie is a fantastic Realtor who helped us buy our first house in Newton. We had many complicated constraints and our search lasted a long time. Barrie was always patient, helpful, honest and insightful, and never pushed us to do anything we weren't sure about. When it was time to buy, she cleverly helped us negotiate a good deal with the sellers and made absolutely sure the sale went smoothly. She is extremely knowledgeable about the greater Boston real estate market and performs deep research into every potential house. We strongly recommend Barrie for home buyers!”

-- Yigal and Hadar A., January 2014

"Barrie helped us find our home in Wellesley when we moved out from the city. We had been looking on our own for ages in Brookline and Newton, and she helped us focus our search and get organized. When we made a sudden switch to looking in Wellesley, she was flexible and knowledgeable about the market in Wellesley. She also never gave us the 'hard sell,' which was important to us. She wanted to make sure that we found a house that met our needs and would make us happy, and really took the time to do that. We wound up in a competitive bidding situation, and Barrie guided us through with experience and common sense. Though our offer was not much higher than the others, it was accepted because she helped us put together an attractive offer that appealed to the sellers. We started the process skeptical of using a broker, and wound up being very satisfied with our experience with Barrie. She was warm and a pleasure to deal with, and I would not hesitate to recommend her."

-- Amanda B., August 2013

"Barrie Wheeler is an excellent real estate agent. From strategizing with us regarding the sale of our house to managing our open houses to overseeing the sale and closing, she provided expert advice and conducted herself with honesty and integrity. This was our first house sale and Barrie guided us every step of the way. We felt like we were in great hands and got terrific results -- five offers over asking price in the first weekend of open houses! I would highly recommend her to anyone looking for a real estate agent in the Boston area."

-- Ben and Sara S. August 2013

"I had the great pleasure of working with Barrie when I moved to Boston. I was looking to buy a house in Brookline and a friend recommended her. During the first interview I realized that Barrie was very knowledgeable of the region and the real estate market. In addition, she was honest, flexible and easy to work with. Barrie listened very carefully to understand my personal situation and showed me a significant number of properties for sale to find the best possible balance with a house that fitted my needs. Once we found the right deal, Barrie assembled a team with inspector, attorney and loan agent that worked very effectively toward the closing. Barrie is, without any doubt, the best real estate agent I have worked with and recommend her without reservation."

-- Juan Carlos A., May 2013

"Barrie was a great resource both in selling and buying. Her knowledge of the market is right on. She is very professional, timely, and makes a very hectic process simpler. Needless to say, I highly recommend Barrie."

-- Rasha A., May 2013

"Barrie demonstrated high integrity and exceptional customer service as both a seller's agent when we sold and a buyer's agent when we bought. She knows the Newton and Brookline markets inside and out and was a reassuring presence during what is always a stressful process. Highly recommended."

-- Paula H., February 2013

“Barrie is the perfect partner for anyone buying or selling a home. She helped us do both, and it was such a pleasure to work with her. She has deep knowledge of the market and extensive experience in all kinds of situations. She is also a wonderful, thoughtful person, and made us feel completely at ease during what could have been a very stressful transition for our family. I recommend her very highly, she is truly outstanding!” 

-- Meredith K., February 2013

“Barrie – the best combination of knowledge, intelligence, patience, and wit. She took every effort in understanding our requirements of a single-family home and its neighborhood, at times also knocking sense into me when I went overboard with my requirements in a place like Newton. With every house she showed us, she did all the research around it and presented it to us with all its known pros and cons. She is not one of those pressing agents who won’t give you space to breath or think; she is the exact opposite of that. Her advice and negotiating skills proved very valuable to us in ultimately getting us the home we were looking for. I highly recommend Barrie for your real estate needs.”

-- Roshni K., February 2013

“Upon the recommendation of friends, my husband and I used Barrie when we purchased our first home in Newton. We have since recommended her to many of our friends. Barrie is extremely bright, patient, and honest--she will not push you to purchase a home. At the same time, Barrie knows how to be aggressive in multiple offer situations, which can be critical in the greater Boston area. We won out in a competitive bidding situation where we suspect we did not make the highest offer. The sellers later told us that our offer was the ‘most attractive’ in other ways (and they praised Barrie for her skill in crafting the offer). In addition, Barrie is very aggressive at getting her clients access to see properties as soon as they hit the market. This is essential in competitive markets like Newton, Brookline, etc.”

-- Lisa R., September 2012